National Register of Historic Districts

What is an Historic District?

An historic district is a concentration of buildings, structures, sites, or objects with shared local, state, or national historic significance for their association with important events, people, design, or archaeological value. Districts are often aesthetically linked or share common elements in their plan and physical development. These cohesive elements often include similar historic architectural styles: building setbacks, forms, massing, height and materials; views, drives and walkways; and landscaping such as tree lined streets. Historic districts contain contributing and non-contributing resources. A contributing property adds to the qualities that make the district significant. Brookings' four districts enhance the overall fabric of our community. We encourage you to plan renovations, alterations and additions that will maintain the property itself and the historic district as a whole.

Brookings National Register of Historic Places

Commercial Historic District

Central Residential Historic District

University Residential Historic District

  • Consists of 248 houses and 177 secondary buildings that were constructed within the 17 block district between 1895-1948.
  • Established in 1999.
  • Registration form (PDF)
  • Map (PDF)

Sexauer Seed Historic District

Individually Listed Properties

* also located in a historic district